OBEA Scholarships

2023 Lammers Professional Development Scholarship

Application Deadline: November 1, 2023

In honor of Mary Ann Lammers, 2004-2005 National Business Education Association (NBEA) President from Oregon, the Lammers Scholarship was instituted to promote leadership and professional development in business education. The Oregon Business Education Association (OBEA) will manage and continue to fund this scholarship through contributions and proceeds from the Silent Auction at the annual OBEA conference. The scholarship will fund registration costs to attend an NBEA Convention. Recipients of the Lammers Scholarship must be an OBEA and WBEA/NBEA member and agree to serve on the OBEA Council in some capacity. A member may be awarded this scholarship only one time.

Amount: $300 (up to $300 to cover registration costs)

Applicant must be:

  1. Current member of OBEA and WBEA/NBEA.
  2. Currently engaged in the business education profession in Oregon.
  3. Able to attend the NBEA Convention in Boston, Massachusetts, on April 7-11, 2020
  4. Either currently serving or be willing to serve as an elected or appointed member of the OBEA Council for at least one year following the NBEA Conference.
  5. Preference will be given to first-time attendees.

Please mail the completed application form to:
Mary Ann Lammers
OBEA Scholarship Director
34820 Goshawk Lane
Philomath, OR 97370

Deadline Dates: All applications must be received by the published deadline date. The scholarship winner will be announced soon after the deadline.

Handling of Funds: The recipient will register for the NBEA Convention and will be reimbursed immediately upon receipt of a copy of the NBEA Registration form following the Convention.

Communication: The winner will be highlighted in the winter OBEA Bulletin and a letter of congratulations will be sent by Mary Ann Lammers. For questions, please contact Mary Ann Lammers at malammers@gmail.com

2023 Fred and Lorrine Winger Scholarship Award

Application Deadline: November 1, 2023

The Oregon Business Education Association (OBEA) awards one scholarship each year to an individual who is pursuing or already engaged in a career as a business education teacher. The eligibility requirements include being an enrolled student–preferably in a program at an Oregon college/university or any other college/university that emphasizes business or computer education–or a current business teacher updating his/her skills/license.

Amount: $500

General Requirements:

  1. Cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or above.
  2. Currently enrolled in business education or equivalent business education training at any college or university or a current business teacher who is updating methods or curriculum.
  3. Career goal is teaching Business Education, Marketing Education, or Information Technology.
  4. Must be a current member of OBEA.

The following documents are required. Mail them to:
Mary Ann Lammers
OBEA Scholarship Director
34820 Goshawk Lane
Philomath, OR 97370

● Letter of recommendation from business education professor or current supervisor
● Copy of current transcripts (unofficial is acceptable)
● Completed application form provided below

Lammers Professional Development Scholarship Recipients

2017 & 2018 Corri Ellis
2016 Joey Running
2015 Sheri Bartels
2014 Nancy Peterson—Central Catholic High School
2013 Nancy Stephens—Chemeketa & Linn-Benton Community Colleges
2012 Shawnna Patterson—Chemeketa Community College
2011 Barbara Holler—Chemeketa Community College
2010 Darlene Marquardt—Irrigon Schools
2009 Patti Sessions—Chemeketa Community College
2008 Janet Lodge—Linn-Benton Community College
2007 Michael Morrell—Sweet Home High School
2006 Twila Lehman—Linn-Benton Community College
2005 Rosemarie Hubley—Linn-Benton Community College

Fred and Lorrine Winger Scholarship Award Recipients

2014 Kari Raeburn
2012 Mark Speck (George Fox University)
2011 Jeremy R. Madison (Corban University)
2010 Joshua Aman (OSU)
2009 Jason Speer (OSU)
2008 Anne Marie Mattson (OSU)
2007 Kari Patching (OSU)
2006 LuAnne Johnson
2005 Jessica (Baker) Voas (Portland State University)
2004 Adriann Spencer (Concordia University)
2003 None given (WBITE in Oregon in 2004)
2002 Susan Boyovich